Refurbishment of Council Offices in the centre of Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford
Market House is a significant building in Enniscorthy, with a rich history and prominent location in the centre of the town. The Market House was built circa 1813 as a five-bay two-storey building with a three-bay south elevation. It was extensively renovated after 1908 when a top floor was added to accommodate use as a technical school. It has been the Municipal District offices for Enniscorthy since 1973.
Aughey O’Flaherty Architects have been appointed to refurbish this historic building to create a modern civic office whilst reinstating some of the original architectural features of Market House. The project provides for an improved public area with meeting rooms and improved office workspaces. A proposed additional third floor would provide a canteen and training.